I pass this spot almost every day, and I think it’s one of the most beautiful places in town. The orchards across the river were still green when I drew this picture back in September. I’m told they grow cherries and apples out there. It’s all very brown out there now, and I can’t wait for spring to come so I can do landscapes again.

It ended up taking several afternoons to complete this picture. On the last day I was out there, the Hanford police came by to see what I was doing (the land behind the fence is owned by the US Department of Energy. I decided to leave out the No Trespassing sign.), but they seemed satisfied that I was just drawing. A school bus drove by at one point, so I put it in. It’s across the river on the far right of the picture.

Columbia River
11″ x 14″, ink, Tria marker, and colored pencil on Bristol

